Hunting Reference Book

book-fair

This semester is surrounded by blessing. First of all, there is a festival that related with my bachelor thesis. The second one, there are three book fairs released near my location. Necessarily, it can accelerates my mission, but, mmm, well, ok, just skip, let’s move to the book fair story :p

The first book fair is really big. It is my first time coming there. I am still focus to search the reference book. There is one or two interesting book but not really worthy and urgent to buy. Finally I buy nothing. The arrangement of the books or perhaps there is no arrangement – I mean – the host lets the books mixed together and such a mountain. Then I realize, I do not suit with that type of book fair. I am a ‘structured’ person.

Let’s continue to the second book fair. Whoo! It is bigger than the first. Two or three or four times bigger. And believe it or not, I truly go around the whole lines of the venue. So tired and excited as well. The arrangement is really good, so organized, I like it. But, actually,the more books offered, the more my confusion. Ckck. I am so confused which one are my priority. So, yeah, I do not fit with much choices too. Anyway, I get a reference book.

Then moving to the last book fair. This is also my first time to go to this annual book fair. I decide that this is my favorite book fair overall. There is no reference book I could find, yet there are bunch of books worth to buy. So, I guess I will come again next year.

There is a unique story. When I stand at a booth reading a synopsis of an eye-catchy-cover book, coming a man who quickly, grab some books, without reading the synopsis, without deep thinking, maybe only see the title of the book. I am shocked. Although the cover of a book is really cool, I still must know the synopsis at the back of the book side, not like an Indonesian proverb “buying a cat in a sack.”

After that, the son of the man appears. He grumbles to his dad. How that dad answers still hit me. He says “son, all the books daddy buy, will be yours when you are grown up, so do not worry okay.”

Beyond my shock of the book grab, I amaze how wise the man is. How he educates his son, not seducing or be angry, he explain something deep to his son. Then the son clams up.

Actually it reminds me something, when my mom buy something and something, and I disagree with those, she also tells me that in the future, I will need it. The question then, she buy for herself or for me?! Dumbfounded. I also choose to clam up.